They patched you up Mama
Let you go on
Yet day on long day
Year on long year
Stroke ruled you –
Ruthless master! –
But could not quench your molten core.
Journey on indomitable spirit
Journey on.
Marian Mehew
11/19/2011 11:05:28 pm

This poem reminded me of my mother's journey with Alzheimer's Disease. They call it The Long Goodbye.

Reply
11/20/2011 01:13:19 am

Very fitting title. Thanks for commenting Marian!

Reply
Dianne
11/23/2011 05:37:30 am

A beautiful collage that reinforces how interwoven we are with nature. The link between us is almost transparent. Our lives are almost transparent.

I don't really see a connection between the photo and the poem, but I think it's a deep poem that reinforces a strong inner spirit that can exist along with frailty.

Reply
11/23/2011 05:50:46 am

This is a very personal one and maybe I include it just for me. It is my Mom's mid section and hand and cane in the background and the poem is about her. In the photo of her she was walking across the yard as if on a very important mission. She lived for many years with the effects of several strokes. Love you Mama - I say - tears streaming down my face.

Reply



Leave a Reply.